Dear Families,

I wanted to give you a brief update on our mindfulness practice and lessons in Room 10.  Over the past few months I have really seen a change in our mindfulness lessons.  The children are engaged and will often remind me that we need to have our mindfulness lesson during our day.  Our lessons are generally 5 to 10 minutes long, but they have profound affects on our daily classroom life.  I am always so touched by what they share after our lesson.  It is our practice to share one or two words about their experience after our lesson each day.  It is hard to even begin to describe or share all that we discuss each day, but here are some of the words they use to describe their experience.

peaceful

happy

open

sad

relaxed

light

tired

comfortable

love

During the month of February when we worked on our heartfulness practice they would often share how much they loved or appreciated someone in their life.  We would often think of one person that we loved and then we would say these words for that person.

May you be happy

May you be peaceful

May you feel safe

May you be healthy

I feel so blessed to have this time and experience with your children each day.  Our mindfulness practice has also made a big difference in my personal life.  I am also excited to share that I just signed up to take a six week on-line course with Mindful Schools in Emeryville, CA.  I took my first course with them back in the spring of 2014.  The title of this course is “Difficult Emotions.”  I am looking forward to bringing all that I learn back into the classroom with your precious children.