Dear Families,
We had our first Martin Luther King Jr. lesson yesterday. I was very moved by our class discussion. Your children are incredibly thoughtful, and kind. We had a very moving and insightful conversation. By the end of our meeting, I was quite take back by all that was discussed and shared in a K/1 classroom about MLK. Our discussion began with this question “Who is Martin Luther King and how did he change the world?”

Here is a list of some of what was shared:

  • MLK was killed
  • He gave a very special speech called “I Have A Dream”
  • His speech changed the world
  • MLK’s dream was that black and white people could all be together and be kind to one another
  • He taught us that everyone is different in a their special own way
  • He taught us that everyone matters
  • When MLK was young people were unkind to him
  • When he was alive a black person had to give up their seat on the bus for a white person
  • When he was young black and white people could not be friends
  • MLK was not allowed to play with his friend who was white
  • I am happy that MLK gave his speech because he allowed us to all learn how to be friends

After our discussion I read the children a book about MLK. I plan to have several more lessons and activities about MLK over the next few weeks. I just wanted to share a small moment with all of you. I was very moved by the class meeting. I feel so blessed and honored to work and learn with your precious children each day.

Best,

Colleen