Dear Families,

I hope you are all having a peaceful weekend.  Ron and I are enjoying some quiet moments after several very busy weeks at both work and home.  I enjoyed seeing so many of you last night at the Chili Cook-Off!

I also wanted to thank and acknowledge everyone for all of your kind thoughts and words about H4AC.  I really appreciate your support!

H4AC 2015 was very special for me because this year we celebrated our 15th anniversary.  As I reflect on the hike this afternoon there are a few memories that I will always treasure. The first memory is about Anton.  Our precious Anton spoke at the opening on Saturday evening at H4AC.  Anton spoke from his heart about what it has been like to live with histio for the past 17 years.  He spoke so honestly and his words moved many people to tears.  My other memory from the weekend was during the research update that was given by the doctors who conduct the research.  I realized while listening to them that we are going to find a cure for this disease and we are getting close.  My final favorite moment was just seeing and connecting with everyone at our H4AC celebration soup and salad dinner on Sunday night.  When Ron and I arrived at the dinner the room was filled with so much positive energy, love, and joy.  When I walked into the room I thought to myself this is why we created H4AC – this is why we hike.

A special thank you to Katie for taking such wonderful care of our learners and our classroom in my absence.

Here are some special photos from the weekend!

image image image image image image image_____________________________________________________

On Wednesday we learned about our letter of the week.  Our letter for this week was “B.”  We had fun making a list of every word we could think of that starts with b.  We also looked at our special garden alphabet book with all the veggies from the garden that start with b.

image

Just before recess Ron came for a special visit to read the learners the book “No More Hiking Please” this book was written and illustrated by Lily Mazzola.  Lily is a learner at CLC who went on H4AC last year and the hike moved her so much that she wrote a personal narrative about her experience.  The book is absolutely precious.  The children loved listening to Ron read her story.

image image image image

On Thursday during center time while half the class had center time in the classroom doing math tiles, the other half made our October calendars in Educare.

image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image

After recess we had our first writers workshop lesson on learning how to write about small moments in our lives.  I shared with the learners that we will be learning about how to write small moments/personal narratives for October and November.  I read them the book “Night of the Veggie Monster” because it is a great small moment story.  Please ask your learner about the story.  They all enjoyed the book.

image image