Monday Center Time
On Monday we had our social studies lesson on the autobiography poem. Some of the learners were able to write half or close to half of their poem. This will be a longer project and we should have it done in the next week or two. Once the project is completed with support the children will be reading their poems to the class. While half the class had social studies with the parent volunteers in Educare, the other half had Slingerland handwriting time with me. I know that I sent this to you a few times but here is a reminder in case you did not get a chance to read about the slingerland program. The slingerland program teaches the lower case letters first. Currently I am introducing/teaching one letter each week, and once the kinders are more comfortable with the program, I will teach two letters per week. During center time on Monday I will be teaching the slingerland lesson with the kinders while the first graders have social studies and then we will switch groups. This will allow me to have small group instruction time with each grade level, when I introduce a new letter. Then I will do a practice/review session of the letters we have learned every Thursday. (this week we learned/reviewed h, l, and b) Currently during this timeframe the first graders are reviewing all of the upper case slingerland letters. We are almost done with this review process and then I plan to review the lower case letters. Once I have completed the review of the lower case letters, I will be teaching phonics lesson with the 1st graders each week during this time slot.

We also had a wonderful lesson in the garden about being a soil scientist. I sent a blog update about it yesterday.