On Monday we had our second lesson in the garden. We made our class agreements for the garden and then the children had time to draw pictures in their garden journals. Here are some photos of our garden time and the list of our garden agreements.

IMG_0906.JPG

IMG_0867.JPG

IMG_0871.JPG

IMG_0870.JPG

IMG_0868.JPG

IMG_0872.JPG

IMG_0874.JPG

IMG_0875.JPG

IMG_0873.JPG

IMG_0877.JPG

IMG_0878.JPG

IMG_0879.JPG

Ron came to visit the class on Wednesday. This week he brought our very calm and precious dog named Hazel. Hazel is extremely gentle and loving. She is very patience and loves to be around children. Ron read them the book the “First Dog” and changed the dog’s name in the book to Hazel. Needless to say the children loved the story. It was a very fun visit! I think Hazel had as much fun as the children did during their visit.

IMG_0895.JPG

IMG_0880.JPG

IMG_0890.JPG

After recess on Wednesday we made our class birthday graph. We had a wonderful class meeting about what we can learn from graphs and how they can help us gather data. Here is a photo of our graph and the list of what they shared during our class meeting about what we learned.

IMG_0896.JPG

IMG_0904.JPG

We had some very touching mindfulness lessons this week. We continued to concentrate on our breath during our mindfulness meetings. At the end of each lesson I always ask the children to share what they felt or thought during our lesson. Here is a list of some of what they shared this week:
– Mindfulness helped me to clear my mind
– Mindfulness helped me to feel more peaceful
– I liked paying attention to my breath because it helped me to relax
– When we had time to sit and be quiet it helped me realize I am missing my mom because she is in Boston
– I think you should always teach mindfulness to all of your children because it helps us feel better

Over the course of the year I will share different things with you about mindfulness. Here is a quote from Jon Kabat-Zinn about how he describes mindfulness, ” Mindfulness means paying attention in a particular way; On purpose, in the present moment, and non-judgmentally.”

Daniel Rechtschaffen the author of “The Way of Mindful Education,” shared that these can be some of the benefits of Mindfulness:
– Better focus and concentration
– Increased calm
– Decreased stress and anxiety
– Improved impulse control
– Skillful ways to respond to difficult emotion
– Increased self-awareness
– Increased empathy and Understanding of others